Martin County West Schools Board of Education Independent School District #2448 Sherburn, MN 56171

Regular Meeting September 18, 2023 6:30pm MCW Central Office

The Martin County West School Board met in regular session on September 18, 2023 at the Martin County West Central Office. The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman at 6:30pm. Board members present were Laura Borchardt, Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman, Danielle Wilmes, Nathan Vrieze, Jeff Scholl and Mark Wohlhuter. Also present were Superintendent Cori Reynolds, Principal Autumn Welcome, and Principal Michele Baker. Absent was board member Darren Thate.

Visitors present were Mary Whitehead, Duane Youngwirth, and Sharon Rosen

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, motion seconded by Jeff Scholl to approve the agenda with additions. Motion carried 6-0.

- a. Approve the Minutes of the August 21, 2023 regular meeting as presented/with changes
- b. Approve the August Payroll of \$219,026.45
- c. Approve the August Checks of \$209,839.70
- d. Approve the Following Grants/Donations:
  - i. \$520 from Citizens Bank for the Personal Finance Lab Budget game simulation for the Exploring Agriculture courses
  - ii. \$300 from Martin County Pork Producers for the High School
  - iii. \$300 from Martin County Pork Producers for the Elementary level
  - iv. \$200 from an anonymous donor for meal balances
- e. Accept the following resignations
  - i. Adam Schorn, Assistant Track and Field Coach effective at the end of the 2022-2023 season.
  - ii. Ryan Henninger, ESP at the Jr/Sr High School effective 8/30/2023
  - iii. Dartan Wilk, Custodian at Sherburn Elementary School effective 9/30/23
  - iv. James Reynolds, Assistant Girls Basketball Coach effective at the end of the 2022-2023 season
  - v. James Reynolds, Community Education & Recreation Summer Ball Coordinator effective at the end of the 2023 season
- f. Approve the hiring of the following
  - i. Mary Anne Gilbertson, route bus driver effective September 5, 2023

- ii. Kailey Palmentera, ESP at the Jr/Sr High School, at ESP Lane, Step 1. Effective September 5, 2023.
- g. Approve the following lane changes
  - i. Logan Pankonin to BA+30
  - ii. Carter Wille to MA
  - iii. Jonah Mayo to BA+10
- h. Approve Family Medical Leave for Jake Helmstetter from approximately October 16 through approximately November 9, 2023

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, Motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to approve the consent agenda as presented/with additions Motion carried 6-0.

Non-Action Items

- a. Presentations
- b. Finance & Enrollment

Action Items

- Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, Motion seconded by Jeff Scholl to Approve Monday, December 18, 2023 School Board Meeting, 6:01 P.M. at the MCW Central Office, as the Date for Our Public Hearing Regarding the Budget and Proposed Property Tax Pass/Fail 6-0
- Motion made by Nathan Vrieze, Motion seconded by Laura Borchardt to Approve the Proposed 2023 Pay 2024 Levy Limitation and Certification at the Maximum Pass/Fail 6-0
- Motion made by Jeff Scholl, Motion seconded by Mark Wohlhuter to Approve the Internal Controls Manual for Accounting Procedures and Practices Pass/Fail 6-0
- d. Approve the following contract overloads
  - i. Nathan Klima at 1.05 FTE
  - ii. Carter Wille at 1.05 FTE
  - iii. Preston Preuss at 1.05 FTE
  - iv. Phillip Rotunda at 1.05 FTE
  - v. Jordan Neduzak at 1.05 FTE
  - vi. Amanda Fiorentino at 1.05 FTE
  - vii. Stephanie Wohlhuter at 1.10 FTE

Motion made by Nathan Vrieze, Motion seconded by Jeff Scholl to approve the contract overloads as listed.

Pass/Fail 5-0-1 with Mark Wohlhuter abstaining.

e. Motion made by Laura Borchardt, Motion seconded by Danielle Wilmes to Approve the second reading and adoption of updated policies 501, 524, 537, 540, 542, 543, 544, and 608.

Pass/Fail 6-0

- f. Approve declaring school bus number 11 surplus equipment and obtain quotes for sale Motion made by Mark Wohlhuter, Motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to Approve declaring school bus number 11 surplus equipment and obtain quotes for sale. Pass/Fail 6-0
- g. Approve the Resolution Relating to Absentee Ballot Board Members for the 2023 Special Election

Motion made by Laura Borchardt, Motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to Approve the Resolution Relating to Absentee Ballot Board Members for the 2023 Special Election Members Voting Yes: Mark Wohlhuter Danielle Wilmes Jeff Scholl Laura Borchardt Nathan Vrieze Sarah Jagodzinske-Rohman

Nathan Vileze Salah Jagodzinske-Kon

Members Voting No: None Pass/Fail 6-0

## Reports/Non-Action Items

- a. Superintendent Cori Reynolds
- b. Principal Autumn Welcome
- c. Principal Michele Baker
- d. Principal & Community Education Director Nickole Bowie

**Committee Reports** 

- a. Certified & Classified Negotiations/Meet & Confer
- b. Curriculum/Technology/Staff Development
- c. Community Education
- d. Operations
- e. Southern Plains Education Cooperative

Communications

- a. Student Participation in the Building Our Future Together Event
  - i. Alaina O'Connor
  - ii. Legend Glidden
  - iii. Stuart Gildemaster
  - iv. Isaac Meyer
  - v. Xander Burnett
  - vi. Jeremiah Olson
  - vii. Richard McMains
  - viii. Jerome Koons
  - ix. Talen Kettner
  - x. Connor Pope
  - xi. Katie Hartke
  - xii. Jonah Striemer

- xiii. Clare Striemer
- xiv. Grant Koehnen

Dates to Remember

- a. September 22, Homecoming
- b. September 22, Early Voting for the Special Election Opens, 7:30 am
- c. October 4, Midquarter
- d. October 5, Community Informational Meeting, 6:00pm, Trimont Triumph Hall
- e. October 11, Community Informational Meeting, 1:00pm, Virtual
- f. October 16, Community Informational Meeting, 6:00pm, Sherburn Elementary
- g. October 16, School Board Meeting, 7:15pm, Central Office
- h. October 18-20, MEA Break
- i. October 24, Community Informational Meeting, 5:30pm, Welcome Legion
- j. October 30, Community Informational Meeting, 6:30pm, Dunnell Community Hall
- k. November 7, Election Day, 8:00am

The board entered a closed session for Superintendent performance evaluation pursuant to Minn Stat. 13D.05 at 7:02pm.

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, Motion seconded by Nathan Vrieze to end the closed session. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting reopened at 7:24pm

Motion made by Jeff Scholl, Motion seconded by Laura Borchardt to adjourn. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:25.pm